Nepal Govt. Regd. No. 1224/064, SWC Affiliation No. 22612

Events 2015

Teacher Training Program 2015

Teachers need to be trained on how to make classroom learning interactive and fun and therefore effective. With this motto, Dr. Anne Prescott and her friend Jane Cameron, both of whom are the supporters of Sambhav Nepal, conducted Teacher Training Program at Bhairabi Primary School, Arupokhari, Gorkha from 9th to 12th January and at Gandaki Higher Secondary School of the same district from 15th to 18th of January 2015. The two trainers are from the Australian Rotary Volunteer Team.

Dr. Anne Prescott and Jane Cameron arrived in Kathmandu, Nepal on Jan 6. They were picked up from the airport by the representative of Ace the Himalaya. This trek and tour agency organized transportation and accommodation of the two trainers.  On the next day, the trainers did shopping. They bought materials needed to conduct the teacher training program and things they will donate to the schools. On Jan 8, they left Kathmandu for Arupokhari, Gorkha. It was a seven-hour jeep ride and an hour-long walk. The guests were welcomed warmly in the village.

The training at Bhairabi Primary School began on Jan 9, continuing for 4 days up to Jan 12. This was the fourth consecutive time that this kind of training was organized at the school.  A total of 25 teachers from various schools of the district participated in the program. The focus of the training was to enhance the teaching techniques of the local teachers, especially in subjects like Maths and English. Dr. Anne and Jane taught the teachers how to make learning these subjects effective. The program was a learning experience for the attending teachers.

Jan 12 was a big day. It was the 21st Anniversary of Bhairabi Primary School. So on this day, grand celebration was organized. The anniversary celebration program was attended by:

Chitralekha Yadav – Hon. Education Minister of Nepal

Hari Aryal – District Education Office of Gorkha

Prem K Khatry – Chairman of Sambhav Nepal and Ace the Himalaya

Binod Neupane – Rotarian from Rotary Club of Mt Everest and Vice President of Nepal Engineering Council

Mohan Prakash Pokhrel – Vice President of Nepali Congress, Gorkha

It was the first time Hon. Education Minister of Nepal Chitralekha Yadav visited Bhairabi Primary School. In the speech she gave to the audience, she appreciated the great efforts made by Sambhav Nepal and congratulated the Chairman Prem K Khatry and his team and the two Australian volunteers. And she also said that the government of Nepal will support Sambhav Nepal to improve education and health situation of Gorkha district. It was a great motivation to continue working on good causes.

In the celebration program, other guests also gave speech to the audience. Then, Hon. Education Minister Chitralekha Yadav and other guests signed on the Certificates of Participation, which they handed to the teachers who completed the training. And Dr. Anne Prescott and Jane Cameron were given Certificates of Appreciation and a token each. They also handed materials to the school. And there were dancing and singing shown by schoolchildren. It was a delight to see these kids perform their talent in front of honorable guests, their schoolmates and villagers.

On Jan 13, the trainers visited Teachers’ College and on the next day they travelled to Gandaki Higher Secondary School on a local jeep. The school is in the other side of the valley. There Dr. Anne and Jane were welcomed enthusiastically. The villagers even played Nepali musical instruments and the trainers danced as well.

The training at this school began on Jan 15 and continued for 4 days up to Jan 18. A total of 17 teachers from different schools participated and learned teaching methodologies from Dr. Anne Prescott and Jane Cameron to make learning effective. And on the last of the program, there was a certificate distribution and farewell program. The attending teachers were presented Certificates of Participation and the school was given sports and stationery materials.

On Jan 19, the two Australian trainers returned to Kathmandu. On Jan 20, they had sightseeing tour. They visited three World Heritage Sites of Kathmandu valley: Pashupatinath Temple, Boudhanath Stupa and Bhakapur Durbar Square. And on Jan 21, they bid goodbye and headed for their home.

We thank Dr. Anne Prescott and Jane Cameron on behalf of Bhairabi Primary School and Gandaki Higher Secondary School, all the participating teachers and well-wishers. Because of your efforts, the teaching quality at schools of Gorkha, Nepal will improve and it will have a great impact in schoolchildren, who are the future of this nation. We wish you two success and well-being. We hope we will get to work with you for good causes in the future.

The Participants of the Teacher Training at Bhairabi Primary School:

  1. Anjana Regmi (Jala Kanya Primary School)
  2. Balkumari Neupane (Bhairabi Primary School)
  3. Chanda Prasad Timalsina (Bhairabi Primary School)
  4. Dambar Bahadur Shahi (Durbar Higher Secondary School)
  5. Devi Raman Khanal (Bhairabi Primary School)
  6. Jagannath Khanal (Bhairabi Primary School)
  7. Mina Shrestha (Nindra Kanya Secondary School)
  8. Nabin Khanal (Bhairabi Primary School)
  9. Sabitri Khanal (Dharapani Secondary School)
  10. Samir Baral (Kallari Lower Secondary School)
  11. Sanjil Baram (Kallari Lower Secondary School)
  12. Sarala Adhikari (Sitala Primary School)
  13. Sarita Adhikari (Sankar Primary School)
  14. Shree Hari Kumar Shresth (Gyan Bhumi Primary School)
  15. Sitala Khatri (Bhairabi Primary School)
  16. Srijana Khanal (Ganesh Primary School)
  17. Subash Ale (Durbar Higher Secondary School)
  18. Sunita Adhikari (Bhairabi Primary School)
  19. Suresh Gurung (Bal Udyan Primary School)
  20. Sushila Shrestha (Nindra Kanya Secondary School)
  21. Tanka Neupane (Bhairabi Primary School)
  22. Tara Thapa (Bhairabi Primary School)
  23. Thakur Poudel (Dharapani Secondary School)
  24. Tirtha Bika (Bhairabi Primary School)
  25. Yubraj Khanal (Bhairabi Primary School)

The Participants of the Teacher Training at Gandaki Higher Secondary School:

  1. Buddhi  Bikas (Annapurna Primary School)
  2. Deek Bahadur Kattel (Shree Bashukee Lower Secondary School)
  3. Dil Bahadur Baram (Sthanika Lower Secondary School)
  4. Dhurba Kumar Dahal (Gandaki Higher Secondary School)
  5. Fulmaya Nepali (Kewor Pani Primary School)
  6. Hari Krishna Khadka (Bashukee Lower Secondary School)
  7. Jibachh Kumar Yadav (Asladevi Primary School)
  8. Narayan Bahadur Baram (Shankha Devi Primary School)
  9. Parbati Lamichhane (Ganesh Secondary School)
  10. Pradip Kumar BK (Shree Jamune Primary School)
  11. Rabindra Nepali (Shree Gandaki Higher Secondary School)
  12. Rajan Baniya (Shree Nilkantha Lower Secondary School)
  13. Ramsaran Kattel (Gandaki Higher Secondary School)
  14. Rupa Dhamala (Manasalu Primary School)
  15. Sadhuram Dhamala (Jalkumari Lower Secondary School)
  16. Santosh Baniya (Shree Nilkantha Lower Secondary School)
  17. Tek Prasad Shrestha (Sthanika Lower Secondary School)

Some of the Photos from the Teacher Training Program

100 blankets distributed to the earthquake-affected villagers of Gorkha

We along with the earthquake-affected people of Ward no 6 Ratamate village at Arupokhari VDC in Gorkha district are very happy to receive aid from good-hearted Lona Nichele. She came all the way from Switzerland to Nepal to help the earthquake victims.

Along with our earthquake relief team, she went to Ratamate, Gorkha. And on Friday (August 21, 2015) 100 blankets were distributed to the villagers. The blankets will be useful at nights while sleeping and in winter to fight cold.

We heartily thank Lona, our earthquake relief team members and all those who helped us by giving time and efforts. We wish success and wellbeing in their life!

Blanket Distribution Gallery